A Lim Kim made her first U.S. Ladies’s Open look a memorable one Monday, closing with three straight birdies to tie the report for the most important comeback and win the most important occasion in girls’s golf.

And within the closing main of this pandemic-disrupted 12 months in sports activities, she gained carrying a masks.

Beginning the ultimate, frigid spherical at Champions Golf Membership 5 pictures behind in Houston, the 25-year-old South Korean wore a heavy down jacket between pictures and delivered a 4-under 67 for a one-shot victory over Amy Olson and Jin Younger Ko.

Kim turned the seventh participant to rally from 5 pictures behind within the closing spherical of the U.S. Ladies’s Open, and the primary since Annika Sorenstam at The Broadmoor in 1995.

Olson held her personal amid the grief of studying her father-in-law died unexpectedly in North Dakota on Saturday night time. She was in tears Sunday morning on the vary, earlier than rain pushed the ultimate spherical to Monday.

WATCH | Amy Olson will get an ace in 1st spherical:

American Amy Olson had a gap in a single throughout her opening spherical of the U.S. Ladies’s Open in Houston Thursday, on the 16th gap on the Cypress Course. 0:58

Olson, winless in seven years on the LPGA Tour, had a two-shot lead on the again 9 after 54-hole chief Hinako Shibuno faltered. However she could not do something about Kim’s late cost, and Olson fell again when her hybrid on the par-3 16th bounded over the inexperienced and into thick, brown tough, resulting in bogey.

She birdied the ultimate gap for a 72 after Kim had already secured the title.

Ko, the No. 1 participant on the earth who solely lately returned from South Korea the place she rode out the COVID-19 pandemic, additionally birdied the 18th when it was too late to catch Kim. Ko closed with a 68, certainly one of solely six gamers to interrupt par within the closing spherical.

Shibuno closed with a 74 and completed two pictures again.

Kim completed at 3-under 281 and gained $1 million. She added to South Korean dominance of this main, the ninth winner within the final 13 years.

Source link