The choice was ratified by the BCCI’s normal physique comprising the state associations

The BCCI has authorized a 10-team IPL from 2022. The choice was ratified by the BCCI’s normal physique comprising the state associations on the board’s annual normal assembly on Thursday in Ahmedabad. Deciding on two extra groups was among the many details on the agenda for the board’s 89th AGM; with lower than 4 months left for the following IPL, it was determined to stay to eight groups for the 2021 version.

One other necessary level was to debate cricket’s doable inclusion within the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics. The BCCI deferred taking a stand on it and can as an alternative focus on it at a particular normal assembly in early 2021. With the ICC changing into extra optimistic concerning the inclusion of cricket within the 2028 Summer season Olympics, the physique had just lately despatched a questionnaire to all member nations asking them to quantify the “potential financial benefits” they might accrue from their respective governments if cricket was included within the Olympics.

The largest determination on the AGM involved the growth of IPL, which the BCCI has been discussing for the reason that profitable organisation of the current version within the UAE regardless of the challenges of the Covid-19 pandemic. It’s understood that on the assembly on Thursday, each Sourav Ganguly and Jay Shah, the BCCI president and secretary, careworn that the IPL should turn into greater, to supply extra alternatives to extra gamers worldwide whereas including new cities to the IPL map.

The board members – the state associations – accordingly determined that the IPL can comprise as much as 10 groups from the 2022 version and authorised the IPL governing council to finalise the preparations for the addition of the brand new groups. Meaning the 2022 IPL may have 9 or 10 groups. The state associations and the BCCI office-bearers agreed that point constraints would stop an extra franchise in 2021, which might stay an eight-team event.

The board additionally determined to set a cap of 1 franchise per state. Consequently, the brand new IPL franchise(s) could be situated in a state the place no current franchise has a house base. With Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Telangana, West Bengal, Rajasthan, and the union territories of Delhi and Chandigarh dominated out, different worldwide match venues like Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Visakhapatnam, Kochi/Thiruvananthapuram and Lucknow, could be favourites to host the brand new franchises.

Extra to observe…

Nagraj Gollapudi is information editor at ESPNcricinfo

Source link