September 29, 2021


A Complete News Network By Growth Sports Academy

Kobe Bryant’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony pushed to 2021

The Naismith Basketball Corridor of Fame enshrinement ceremony for Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan and Kevin Garnett and 6 others is postponed till 2021.

Corridor of Fame Board of Governors chairman Jerry Colangelo broke the information Wednesday to ESPN. The ceremony was attributable to be held Aug. 29 in Springfield, Mass., following a presentation the day past in Uncasville, Conn.

The Boston Globe lately reported that the Corridor of Fame was seeking to postpone the occasions till October, however Colangelo advised ESPN that holding the ceremony this 12 months will not be doable as a result of ongoing results of the coronavirus pandemic.

“We’re definitely cancelling,” Colangelo mentioned. “It’s going to have to be the first quarter of next year. [The board will]Β meet in a couple of weeks and look at the options of how and when and where.”

He advised ESPN that the Corridor of Fame explored the opportunity of transferring the ceremony from Springfield’s 2,611-seat Symphony Corridor to town’s 8,319-seat MassMutual Heart to supply extra alternative for social distancing, however finally the choice was made to attend till subsequent 12 months.

Bryant died Jan. 26 at age 41 in a helicopter crash in Calabasas, Calif., that additionally claimed the lifetime of his 13-year-old daughter, Gianna, and 7 others.

Bryant was an 18-time NBA All-Star, five-time NBA champion and three-time NBA Finals MVP in a 20-year profession with the Los Angeles Lakers.

Duncan, 44, additionally performed for only one group, the San Antonio Spurs, in a 19-year profession. He gained 5 NBA titles, made 15 All-Star groups and was a two-time league MVP.

Garnett, 44, additionally made 15 All-Star groups and was Defensive Participant of the Yr in 2007-08. He performed 14 seasons for the Minnesota Timberwolves, six for the Boston Celtics and two for the Brooklyn Nets, successful a title with Boston in 2007-08.

The opposite members of the Corridor of Fame’s Class of 2020 are:

  • Tamika Catchings, 40, the nationwide participant of the 12 months for Tennessee in 2000 and the WNBA MVP for the Indiana Fever in 2011.
  • Eddie Sutton, who was the primary coach in NCAA historical past to guide 4 colleges to the NCAA Match (Creighton, Arkansas, Kentucky and Oklahoma State). He died Saturday at age 84.
  • Rudy Tomjanovich, 71, who coached the Houston Rockets to NBA championships in 1994 and 1995 and guided the USA males’s group to a gold medal within the 2000 Olympics in Sydney.
  • Kim Mulkey, 58, who has coached Baylor’s girls’s group to a few NCAA championships.
  • Barbara Stevens, 65, one in all 5 coaches in NCAA girls’s basketball historical past to succeed in 1,000 profession wins.
  • Patrick Baumann, who died in 2018 at age 51, a longtime FIBA govt and a member of the Worldwide Olympic Committee.

The 2020 class shall be inducted individually from the to-be-announced 2021 class, in accordance with Colangelo.

“The class of 2020 is a very special class and deserves its own celebration,” Colangelo advised ESPN.

Source link